Skip to content

Ruskin…and then…steam punk and sleep

January 18, 2012

Received the Penguin Classics edition of Unto This Last and Other Writing, a Ruskin collection, edited by Clive Wilmer this afternoon. In edition to the titular piece, the book also contains “The King of the Golden River” (written for a Lolita-ly aged Effie Gray, pre painfully brief marriage to Ruskin)in its entirety and selections from Modern Painters, Fors Clavigera and a couple of collections of lectures. This is certainly one of the more wide ranging and affordable Ruskin collections out there. Affordable meaning less than $20.

Sadly I have not yet had time to read much of it save for some introductory material. I think the time between 7 and 9 tomorrow will be split between this and Praeterita. For the remaining hours of wakefulness ( or minutes), I believe I’m going to begin William Gibson and Bruce Sterling’s The Difference Engine so as to keep with the Victorian theme… via steam punk, historical revisionism. The mind must shut down in order to sleep. However, I do intend to offer future commentary on The Difference Engine…but until then…

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. So I am going to add these titles to the loooooong list of “books I want to read someday” along with the “movies I want to see one day” list 🙂 Seriously, I love any advice on good books. I appreciate this post and look forward to reading what you have to say about the books 🙂 I think everyone needs to post books that they think should be read. I would truly love to hear everyone’s list of must reads!

  2. Just bought The Difference Machine this summer and started it, but had to stop for fall term teaching… wish I could read it now… perhaps spring break! I hear it’s great. I LOVE steam punk anything.

    • Steam punk, cyber punk, Gibson is just awesome. However, I’m starting to think that I might have to save this one for the break as well. Perhaps, we could both have something to say about it when we return from the break?

Leave a Reply

